We’re certified teachers!

Say hello to a group of 16 newly-certified EFL teachers. (One of our instructors, Ian, is posing on the side with us).

After four crazy weeks of teaching, observing, and writing, we are now able to walk into many English schools around the world and confidently ask for a job. I’ve been really inspired by the diversity of people in my class. In our little group alone, we have a sheep farmer from Australia, a French teacher from Jamaica, a few literature teachers from Nigeria and Cyprus, a woman who works in the ministry of defense in Armenia, a teaching assistant from Brazil, and many more. I was the only American in the group (and, thus, the butt of many jokes in pronunciation lessons. Yes, we have weird accents and prefer to pronounce our R’s.) But all in all, we brought little parts of our worlds into the classroom and learned a lot from each other.

Overall, I’m happy I chose the CELTA course and would highly recommend my school, Oxford House College, to others. I’ve been so surprised to learn about how interesting and extensive the world of English language teaching is. People really come from all walks of life to do this and lead very interesting lives because of this training. With a CELTA certification, the world is your oyster.

So now Jonathan and I are taking a break and enjoying life without class and homework. I have about 3.5 more weeks in London before I’m back in the US making my final arrangements before another year abroad. I’m looking forward to seeing my friends and family again from home! I’ve appreciated all the love and support.

Until then, I can’t wait for the Olympics!

This entry was posted in London and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to We’re certified teachers!

  1. joe says:

    Congratulations! The CELTA is a good choice, when you start teaching you may notice the difference when you work with people who don’t have one. 🙂

Leave a Reply

