The art of living with another person’s family

As a guest in Jonathan’s family home, I find myself incredibly lucky to be given such a unique experience of living with an authentic British family. I get to enjoy home-cooked English food (Shepard’s pie, anyone? Fish and chips?), watch British television with them, talk politics over cups of tea, and be shown around town by a local. Everyday, I learn so much about my new “host” family, and yet, I don’t feel like it’s appropriate to put it all on my blog. I suppose that has been a huge difference I’ve found between living as a study abroad student and as a part of a collective family.

Image
Ruislip, my London suburb (source)

There’s an art to living with another person’s family. There are unwritten rules, expectations, and general daily habits that must be learned and respected. After living here for two weeks, I can see a few small changes I’ve made to the daily routine. My brand-new coffee machine now takes up a bit of counter space in the kitchen. Jonathan’s room has a few new frames containing pictures of my family and friends. Jonathan’s mom seems to enjoy having another female in the house to chat to, with a husband and two sons. It’s interesting to observe the little changes my presence has brought to the family dynamics.

I suppose I’ll have much more to talk about once I start my teaching course in 10 days. My days will soon be filled with grammar, spelling, teaching tools, and lesson plans. But for now, I apologize for the obvious blogosphere silence.

Image(Source)

This entry was posted in London and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The art of living with another person’s family

  1. Cameron Cook says:

    So good to hear how things are going! Sometime soon I’d like to get you and Jonathan on the phone or on chat and talk about what y’all are doing. Glad I can keep up with you on your blog.

    • Colleen V says:

      Great to hear from you, Cameron! We’d love to skype in the near future. Weekends are usually good since Jonathan still has work during the week. Hope you’re doing well!

Leave a Reply

