“Gleams that untravelled world”

“I am a part of all that I have met;
Yet all experience is an arch wherethrough

Gleams that untravelled world, whose margin fades
For ever and for ever when I move.”
– Alfred, Lord Tennyson- “Ulysses”

I remember reading these lines by Tennyson last Fall in a survey course of 18th to 20th century British poetry. I had returned from studying abroad in London only a couple months before and was still feeling the reverberations of my life changing experience abroad. Just as the narrator of the poem feels restless in his native home of Troy, I, too, had caught a fantastic case of wanderlust that left me daydreaming about what I wanted to do upon graduating in the spring.

It’s no secret that I have another reason for feeling like my heart is constantly in another place. Jonathan, my boyfriend who I met abroad last spring, has made our long-distance relationship possible by sacrificing a lot of vacation time to come visit me in the States. In order to make the year-long wait possible for ourselves, we started planning. We bounced a few ideas about where we could live and what we could do, but it was Jonathan who first mentioned the idea of looking into teaching abroad. This idea soon blossomed into something more, something I would mention at parties when asked what I wanted to do after I graduated with my English major, or the answer to how Jonathan and I were going to stay together with an international relationship. With a lot of research and a lot of planning, we are just about ready for the job.

So here begins another blog that I hope will connect me back to my friends and family at home. I sincerely enjoyed blogging about my time studying abroad last year (found here), so I figure I’ll try this out once again. I have exactly ONE WEEK until I fly out from Raleigh-Durham airport and land in Heathrow on my one-way ticket. If all goes according to plan and we pass our TEFL course this summer, Jonathan and I will hopefully be flying on a one-way ticket to either South Korea or China in the Fall. Hence my new blog title, “Passport to Somewhere.”

So who knows where we’re going. All I know is that I’m ready to take the jump!

Zadar, Croatia (2011)

This entry was posted in North Carolina and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

